Keynote Speakers EALS 2016



Opening Keynote: Deborah F. Rutter


President of The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts


Known for emphasizing collaboration, innovation, and community engagement, Kennedy Center President Deborah F. Rutter is considered one of the most influential arts administrators in the nation. As president, Ms. Rutter is the artistic and administrative director of the world's busiest performing arts center, managing all facets of the facility, including expansive theater, contemporary dance, ballet, chamber music, and jazz seasons as well as its affiliates the National Symphony Orchestra and Washington National Opera. The Center encompasses one of the nation's largest arts education programs, reaching millions of people of all ages each year, and includes VSA, the international organization on arts and disability. Deborah F. Rutter became president of the Kennedy Center on September 1, 2014, the third person to serve in this capacity, following Michael M. Kaiser (2001-2014) and Lawrence Wilker (1991-2001). Read More.

Closing Keynote: Megan Crigger


Director of Creative Services, Office of Culture and Creative Services, City of Kansas City, MO


Appointed in January 2015, Megan Crigger is the Director of Creative Services for the City of Kansas City, Missouri, Office of Culture and Creative Services, where she advises city leaders in policy and programs that support arts, culture, and creative industries. Prior to this position, Ms. Crigger was the Cultural Arts Division Manager (2010-2014), Art in Public Places Director (2003-2010) and Art in Public Places Project Manager (2000-2003) for the City of Austin, Texas, Economic Development Department. Her professional membership includes the United States Urban Arts Federation (current), the Texans for the Arts Executive Board and Executive Committee for the Any Given Child initiative from the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Ms. Crigger holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Art History, and a Master of Arts degree in Arts Education from the University of Texas at Austin.